AST30130 & Deltalite 2512???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I am new to DIY - recently got my feet wet with a Subwoofer build for my HT... This worked out well, and "I would like to take on the challenge of designing a speaker...

This idea is inspired by a 2 way build with the Beyma TPL-150h and Acoustic Elegance TD12m that I fell in love with, but sadly those drivers are a little too costly for me... Looking into lower cost alternatives led me to the AST30130 and Deltalite 2512.
I considered using the smaller 10" version for a better directivity match, but with drivers this large, I'm not sure it would make much of a difference.

My goal is to come up with a fairly efficient speaker that can handle HT abuse while having the unique sound of an AST Tweeter - in a budget friendly way as I plan on building 5 identical speakers!

I am open to any and all suggestions, including different driver pairings...
Like I said, I am new to this and may be way off base with the driver selection...

Thank you in advance for any assistance you may provide!

I use the Deltalite 2512 in a two way with a CD horn above 700 hz. If the AST (Heil AMT clone) can genuinely play that low, you have a good match.

I would recommend including a single capacitor in series with the AST, just as a precaution against DC on the HF driver.

I do not recommend crossing the 2512 much higher, as it starts to SHOUT when the beaming effect begins.

You'll need a BIG box to get the most from the 2512.

3.65 cubic feet, if vented.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Hello, I know this is rough, just trying to get an idea of what I could expect with these drivers....
Any suggestions are more then welcome! :D

This is my first ever attempt at a passive XO design...

Attachments

• AST30130_v2_FR.jpg
    AST30130_v2_FR.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 163
  • AST30130_v2_Imp.jpg
    AST30130_v2_Imp.jpg