2 layers of wood

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Newbie here, so this is probably a dumb question.

Everyone is building speakers out of MDF, using a router to cut an indentation for the flange, so the drivers are flush.

Wouldn't it be easier and more precise to just cut holes, surface mount the drivers, and then add an extra layer the same thickness as the flange with a larger hole? You could even use hardwood for the outer layer, and it would double as your veneer.

Joined 2011
Paid Member
Sure Could!
Easier? Maybe Not.
I think it would be more difficult to get 2 holes in a sequence to line up with multiple drivers so that all of your edges line up.
I have a Jasper Jig that makes cutting holes very simple in 1/16" increments.
I also find that figured veneers are easier to find than 1/4" thick thin stock that is figured.

Whatever Floats Your Boat

You certainly could do what you suggest but if the design is not a single full-ranger, each of the drivers, woofer, midrange and tweeter, for instance, will likely have different flange thicknesses, so you would not be able to perfectly match those with only one thickness of overlaid hardwood (the differences in flange thicknesses may be small in some cases, however).
Paul

Newbie here, so this is probably a dumb question.

Everyone is building speakers out of MDF, using a router to cut an indentation for the flange, so the drivers are flush.

Wouldn't it be easier and more precise to just cut holes, surface mount the drivers, and then add an extra layer the same thickness as the flange with a larger hole? You could even use hardwood for the outer layer, and it would double as your veneer.

Joined 2010
Paid Member