Help with "tweeter protection"

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.

[FONT=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]I just have one question because either I am misunderstanding electronics (which is quite possible, I'm a molecular biologist, not an engineer) or something is confusingly written in the DEQX manual—particularly the sentence in bold. Everything else is very clear to me.
[/FONT][FONT=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]
The manual says:

“As indicated in Figure 5 and Figure 6, a protection capacitor (a high voltage film
capacitor) in series with the tweeter is generally recommended. This will help protect it from DC offsets and turn on and turn off transients. If there is any question that the amplifier and upstream equipment is not perfectly behaved or that the tweeter is fragile, the capacitor is strongly recommended.

Unlike other systems, the DEQX will compensate for the roll off and phase shift introduced by the capacitor. The capacitor therefore does not have to be large (a common rule of thumb is to size it so that its roll off starts two octaves below the crossover frequency), but sized to roll off at the anticipated crossover frequency. Since it is relatively small in size, a very high quality capacitor can be used.”

So—the passive crossover in my speakers is at 2250 kHz – what capacitor do I get? It would be great if you could be very specific—like a link to a part.

[/FONT]

if the crossover in your speaker has any kind of capacitor in series with the tweeter then you do not need any more capacitors in series to provide dc blocking at all.

so please reveal the schematic of your crossover and then we can tell you if you even need this thing or not.

Hi, since you quoted from the DCX page, I guess you're doing active/multi-amp system, so the suggestion of putting a capacitor in line after the amp and before the speaker ( tweeter ).