Speaker cables - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th March 2016, 08:20 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Speaker cables

I've been using 18awg upocc solid silver in PTFE tubing for about 4 years and the speakers sound real good. While cleaning the attic I found a 4 foot pair of XLO Ultra 6, with original spades, I bought about 10 years ago. That is the length I need.

I know I can try it but the silver wire has already had bits of the ends break off from connecting and disconnecting, probably 5 or 6 times, so I'd rather not lose anymore length.

I'd appreciate any thoughts about the XLO vs upocc 18awg silver.

Thanks,
henrylr
Old 5th March 2016, 08:26 PM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi,

You have a problem making your own comparisons ?
What difference would other opinions make at all ?

rgds, sreten.
Old 5th March 2016, 08:35 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

As I said I could do a comparison but the silver wire has brittle end that are breaking off. I also thought perhaps there were some strong feelings about the different wires. Always like to read opinions.
Old 5th March 2016, 09:04 PM   #4
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by henrylrjr View Post
I also thought perhaps there were some strong feelings about the different wires.
There are. Some are extreme. Don't worry about it. If the wires make a significant difference you should hire someone to analyze your system and see what's actually wrong.
Old 5th March 2016, 09:10 PM   #5
iScream is offline iScream  United States
diyAudio Member

How much would that silver sell for melted down? Seriously.