Here's where you guys can really help me... Bi-amping - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd February 2004, 05:33 PM   #1
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Default Here's where you guys can really help me... Bi-amping

This is my first attempt at bi-amping and I'm awfully green. In fact I don't even deserve a colour.
This is my first thought:

I will use my H/K (55wpc) as a pre-amp. I am thinking of running the pre-out to an active crossover and then to a Carver cube (400-500wpc) on each woofer (97dB @ 1 w). I want to then take the high end and put it back through the pre-in on the H/K for the tweeters (108 dB @ 1 w). I am thinking that with the difference in sensitivity, this might be a good match.

Please comment on this part, then tell me about the active crossover. I have no idea of good from bad. It would be great to be able to order from Parts Express.

I don't even know the difference between what they call an electronic crossover and a signal processer

Is this something I could use?

Active crossover

Thank you for your input, I'm not looking to wing it this time.

Cal
Old 22nd February 2004, 06:07 PM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

JMO but I wouldn't hold out for too much tonal purity using a
carver cube for midrange.

Your sensitivity vs power arrangements sound perfectly sensible.

But the whole arrangement seems over SPL'ed for domestic use.

I've looked at the specs for the Beringher, will work, but you'll
still need to add pre-eq between pre-out and the c/o for baffle
step compensation and any tonal tweaking of the bass/mid.

sreten.
Old 22nd February 2004, 06:12 PM   #3
JohnSz is offline JohnSz  United States
diyAudio Member