New member, new OB project, questions...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Been lurking here for quite awhile, but this winter I'll have time to build something, and I thought I'd start a build/questions thread on what I'm doing and going to do. I've got some electronics experience with doing repair work. I've rebuilt an ST-70 and my current Citation II and built a preamp, but have never done speakers. I'm quite good with wood, though - and plan something kind of special with the baffles. I've been reading numerous forums and have developed the idea of what I'd like to implement, but there are issues (many of which I'm sure I have not even thought of yet). My idea is a 2 way passive OB (to start with!) using the Eminence Alpha 15 driver for the bottom end and an Altec 811 horn with an 806a (8 ohm version) driver for the mid and upper end. I've got a pair of Eminence PXB2:800 crossovers (800Hz 18 dB/octave HP, 12 dB/octave) as well.

I put everything together in a mock up cardboard baffle, and the Eminence drivers are very weak/quiet. I'm sure this is due to the large efficiency difference between the drivers - the Altec 806a (I have the 8ohm version built for Heathkit; the specs I found are from the 16 ohm Altec version) is listed in old Altec literature as having 109.5db efficiency, while the alpha 15 is only 97db.

So... I need to tame the output of the 806a a bit. What are recommended ways to do this? I've used the online L pad calculator - thinking about a 10bd drop on the 806a would bring it down more in line with the output of the alpha - so I did the calculation with a 10db drop at 50w per channel and got the values for my resistors for an L Pad of:

circuit.gif
Parts List
Resistors
R1 = 5.47 Ohms 34.19 Watts
R2 = 3.7 Ohms 10.81 Watts

Q1: Do the knowledgeable folks here recommend this route, or is there something else that I should be considering?