Crossover Modification - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd November 2015, 06:44 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Crossover Modification

newbie here with a crossover question. I recently upgraded that caps in a klipsch kp3.6a crossover and noticed that the person who owned that speakers before me has removed that 3.3 ohm resistor in the tweeter circuit. I was wondering why he may have done that, and what the affect it would have on the way the speakers sound? thanks for any help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gallery_299_34_63980.jpg (76.5 KB, 156 views)
Old 2nd November 2015, 07:11 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

If you simply remove the 3R3 resistor in the tweeter path, the tweeter will mute. There should be at least a piece of wire instead of the resistor, and in this case the sound of the speaker will be brighter as the tweeter has at least a couple of dB more. I'd put the resistor again in the crossover, it should sound more natural.

Ralf
Old 2nd November 2015, 07:14 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

thank you for the reply. Actually there is a wire in the i forgot to mention that . I will definitely put the resistor in and see what kind of difference it makes.
Old 2nd November 2015, 07:36 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Remember to remove the wire.
Old 2nd November 2015, 08:57 PM   #5
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi,

Your bordering on totally insulting intelligence in two posts.

rgds, sreten.
Old 2nd November 2015, 09:37 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndirish147 View Post