Advice wanted for Record Console refurbish project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So, my wife picked up a beautiful looking mid century record console but good looking is all it was, pretty much all the audio gear was shot so I’m taking a stab at refurbishing it.

Firstly, I understand by it’s nature I’m not likely to get something that sounds “perfect”, I’m OK with that but I do want it to sound decent.

I started playing around with some old gear I had. I changed out the turntable for a Dual 1257, put in an airport express for Airplay and, temporarily, put some Yamaha satellite speakers inside each enclosure with 8” Yamaha Sub sitting by it for now. I tried putting some Pioneer BS22 bookshelf speakers inside too but found, weirdly, that they sounded muddy and undefined inside the cavernous enclosures of the Console. This made me wonder if smaller drivers are going to be the way to go?

I ran it all through an old Yamaha amp I’d found at a goodwill for $10. I also have a Qinpu Q2 headphone amp, the little Chinese Tube/Hybrid one. I tried running the line out from it in to my Yamaha using it primarily as a tube preamp and found that I liked what the tube did to the sound a lot.

So, here’s where I’m at. I’m happy with the Dual, I like the idea of having some kind of tube pre-amp stage, the cheap chinese ones do me just fine, I’m sold on a 2.1 system being the way forwards and I want to build everything in to the space I have

What I need:

A good amp for powering tops and subs, I was thinking maybe a plate amp with a crossover and/or some kind of small T Amp with a tube preamp before it

I’m considering too using a Minidsp to set more accurate crossover points and do some basic cutting of the resonant frequencies etc