Maximum lower end of frequency range achievable from two way speakers.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
This is continued discussion from this thread. I again confess I am not building anything; this would be just for learning purpose. I was mainly interested in only technical discussion as subjective preferences vary. Question was about maximum frequency range achievable (Specially lower end) from a two way (only two drivers) speaker system. I presume 20khz would be easily achieved.
I have zero knowledge of speaker design but I have read debates about ported vs sealed enclosures, bass preference, low frequency music contents etc. To avoid that lets put some specific goals, constraints, preferences and conditions in the design. Obviously these are not 'THE' best design choices but its good if we narrow down to something and reduce options available to make the discussion fruitful.
1) Only two drivers.
2) Sealed enclosure.
3) Drivers currently available for this purpose.
4) Linear response.
5) should sustain as much sound pressure as possible at reference level.

Thanks and regards. :)

Question was about maximum frequency range achievable (Specially lower end) from a two way (only two drivers) speaker system. I presume 20khz would be easily achieved.
I have zero knowledge of speaker design but I have read debates about ported vs sealed enclosures, bass preference, low frequency music contents etc. To avoid that lets put some specific goals, constraints, preferences and conditions in the design. Obviously these are not 'THE' best design choices but its good if we narrow down to something and reduce options available to make the discussion fruitful.
1) Only two drivers.
2) Sealed enclosure.
4) Linear response.

The JBL M2 would be an example of a design meeting your criteria other than #2.
Variations of this type of design have been used since the 1940s for studio monitoring.