Problems with Scanspeak Illuminator 12MU/8731

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've recently completed a three way system using 12" woofer, 2 of the 12MU's per channel and dome tweeter in MMT configuration. All drivers properly counter sinked flush mounted.

My tweeters are the Scanspeak Illuminator D3004/6640

Being a novice I chose to use active crossovers (2 Pass Labs XVR-1) with multi amps to avoid problems designing passive crossover.

I used 2 midrange drivers per channel because I do like to play my music loud at times and my thinking was to bring the efficiency up a little bit closer to the Woofer and Tweeter which are both higher than single 12MU.

My baffle step on 16" width baffle ends a little over 300hz so I'm using my crossover point @ 360hz. I used the edge program for best location of drivers on the baffle.

On the top end I've experimented a lot between 2200, 2500 & 2900 using both LR 12 & 24 none of which makes any difference on the problem I'm having.

I used the proper value resistor/cap to flaten the voice coil inductance. I tried with or without but it made no difference either.

I also tried the midrange drivers in a much much smaller parts express curved box with only a 7" wide baffle just to experiment and it made no difference to the problem. I'm positive it's not a box or baffle problem. (at least on the outside)

Here is the issue:

On female vocals when certain sustained notes/pitch is hit it sounds like some harmonics or some type of ringing is being generated. This is occurring only in the midrange speakers as determined by listening only to the midrange drivers by themselves.