Software based crossovers - do they work?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I would like to use a computer as a digital crossover and add EQ to my subwoofers that way too. I found very contradictive opinions whether it is possible and I have not seen it work.

Equipment used: 1 computer as media center, 1 player with digital volume control, 2 USB ports, 2 different DACs, 2 different amps, 2-way speakers in bi-amping configuration.

I'm not a pro when it comes to media centers but it seems JRiver is capable of applying low and high pass filters to separate channels and link the channels with multilple sound cards (USB DACs). I don't know if I need any plugin or not.

My concerns are about the use of 2 usb ports and different DACs.
Would I be able to apply EQ/DSP to subwoofer channels and make sure both USB ports send the signal at the same time?
Will I be able to apply delay/phase correction?
Will two different DACs have consistent buffer delay?
Free tool called rePhase seems to be able to help with phase correction but can it be used with 2 DACs?
Finally, can I measure the response of the system which includes the whole DSP process?

Thanks for help!

I've been using JRiver for a few years now for active xo. It will do everything you want......but I'm not sure if it will be able to be used with separate dac's and keep the timing correct. It would be kind of a goofy setup to have MC playing to two dac's as I'd think you'd need to have 2 zones linked (one for each dac). Even then Idk if that would work. It makes much more sense to me from a technical and ease of use standpoint to have a multi-channel dac.

Hi everyone,

I would like to use a computer as a digital crossover and add EQ to my subwoofers that way too. I found very contradictive opinions whether it is possible and I have not seen it work.

Edited...

sorry, I noticed that you were talking about subs..