Scanspeak 4531g bookshelf design help - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th June 2015, 11:17 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Scanspeak 4531g bookshelf design help

I have a pair of unused 18w4531g00's and R3004/602000's lying around as I was going to use them in the car but went for horns instead. So I figured I'd turn them into a bookshelf speakers as my amp is 4ohm stable

I'm fairly new to this side of audio. I ran the tsp's through winisd and came out with 13.6L for sealed which is fine by me. Although madisound recommend 0.3-0.4 cu ft..

Would anyone recommend anything different?
Old 20th June 2015, 12:09 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

What works in a car doesn't necessarily work at home. In this case doing a sealed cab means a too high F3, if the use is without a sub.
Without sub the smallest cab I'd do is some 25L tuned to 35Hz (vented), as this driver is really optimized for a vented cab. Play with unibox (free) to run some simulations.

However choosing a suitable box is only the smallest problem. Are you able to design a custom crossover that those drivers deserve? Have a look at this sticky for a design methodology (I prefer post #20): Introduction to designing crossovers without measurement

Ralf
Old 20th June 2015, 12:36 PM   #3
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi,

A vented floorstander is the best option for no sub use.

A high quality x/o needs to be developed, very
similar to Zaph|Audio - ZRT - Revelator Tower.
Except of course, your dealing with 4 ohm drivers.

rgds, sreten.

Last edited by sreten; 20th June 2015 at 12:41 PM.
Old 20th June 2015, 02:46 PM   #4
diyAudio Member