Scanspeak 4531g bookshelf design help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a pair of unused 18w4531g00's and R3004/602000's lying around as I was going to use them in the car but went for horns instead. So I figured I'd turn them into a bookshelf speakers as my amp is 4ohm stable

I'm fairly new to this side of audio. I ran the tsp's through winisd and came out with 13.6L for sealed which is fine by me. Although madisound recommend 0.3-0.4 cu ft..

Would anyone recommend anything different?

What works in a car doesn't necessarily work at home. In this case doing a sealed cab means a too high F3, if the use is without a sub.
Without sub the smallest cab I'd do is some 25L tuned to 35Hz (vented), as this driver is really optimized for a vented cab. Play with unibox (free) to run some simulations.

However choosing a suitable box is only the smallest problem. Are you able to design a custom crossover that those drivers deserve? Have a look at this sticky for a design methodology (I prefer post #20): http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/189847-introduction-designing-crossovers-without-measurement.html

Ralf

Thanks everyone. I can use a sub, but I'd have to get a minidsp plate amp or similar which I don't plan on doing for a little while. I have a whole lot of car audio SQ subs lying around so I might try those out in a few months when I get bored (boston g5, image dynamics idq12, idq10).

I sell car audio, so I have a lot of car audio lying around. These were intended for a car but I instead went with a horn/high sensitivity setup (a lot easier having a crossover at 800-1.25khz rather than 2.5khz up)

I was going to attack the crossover problem after I decide on an enclosure. I've had an offer of help with the crossover, Madisound have a crossover for this pair and zaph has one for the zrt I can reference to. I do have a umik I do measurements with also.