Woofer testing voltage level question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been using my Woofer Tester 2 (WT2) for many years to determine T/S paramaters for speaker drivers. The device uses very low voltage (mV) level during the test. However, the voltage level meter on the software does show a little over 1 V after calibration and before the leads are attached to the DUT. The WT web site states their device measures at constant current. I've noted that during a test as each successive datapoint in plotted, the current returns to about 3.6 mA when testing a woofer with a Re of 7.35 ohms.

It's come to my attention recently that some commercial driver manufacturers are now using voltages in the 1-3 volts range. https://www.madisoundspeakerstore.c...oofer-neo/ferrite-magnet-copper-sleeve-8-ohm/
The Morel T/S table shows a comparison of results on small signal vs 1 volt drive levels. This huge increase gives T/S values significantly different from the classic low voltage ones we've been using for years in our speaker designs. To me, this is a disturbing development that alters our assumptions used in modeling. How is this accounted for????

Are any of you DIY'rs using higher voltage level in your testing? What device are you using?

Last edited:
I've been using my Woofer Tester 2 (WT2) for many years to determine T/S paramaters for speaker drivers. The device uses very low voltage (mV) level during the test. However, the voltage level meter on the software does show a little over 1 V after calibration and before the leads are attached to the DUT. The WT web site states their device measures at constant current. I've noted that during a test as each successive datapoint in plotted, the current returns to about 3.6 mA when testing a woofer with a Re of 7.35 ohms.