medium active 3-way

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2015
This I like https://www.madisoundspeakerstore.c...o-sb12.3-sb-acoustics-12-dual-midrange-3-way/

Acoustic suspention 3 way design.

What is the reasoning for dual mid ranges?

I am a novice speaker builder and would like to execute something like that or similar.

Are there other designs tried and tested utilizing the same make and model drivers, same sizes and specs....? I would like to do the bass bins in separate enclosures, with the upper boxes to rest on top. Why if your asking, its just to simplify the build.

Im serious about starting a speaker project and already invested in a multi channel amp to use in tandem with my 2 channel. and mini DSP.

Amplifiers Nad 120x2 and 35x4, would this be adequate? Im thinking the 2 channel having more heft would be happy powering those 12s and the 4 channel will work well power the upper ranges.

I was going to use an analog crossover but figure the digital will work better for me. I tested things on some 3 way acoustic suspension speakers that were store bought, fantastic. Except power handling is rated 100 watts RMS, they fold under pressure before I can get to levels Im happy with. Almost there, not quite. Clarity and sound separation is great. It really opened up when I removed the internal crossovers. This fueled my desire to get some bigger better greater power handling speakers into my room with some help.

Hi,

The dual midranges are because its not easily done with one
small midrange given the current state of available drivers.

Take a look at : https://sites.google.com/site/undefinition/tarkus

But note fully active, if you had 100W for the bass,
30W would be fine for the mid and 10W for the treble.

rgds, sreten.

FWIW D.Self knows all the detail but none of the basics
when it comes to active x/o design. Basically he does