Modifying(upgrade) ProAc Studio 200? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd January 2004, 06:05 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Modifying(upgrade) ProAc Studio 200?

Hello.

I wanted to get experts' opinions on something I'd like to do. I have been using ProAc Studio 200 since early 1995, and finally found that the foam edges of 18W8542 woofers were all cracked. I looked for some info. to replace or fix them, and found that options were $15/pc kit or $65/pc driver repair, or $2xx/pc driver replacement(could be cheaper, I guess). That just made me think that putting $300 or $900 to worry about the same thing 9 year later is not favorite. So, I changed my mind to replace all drivers and crossovers to make a new speakers. As I am poor at tools and woodwork skills, I just want to replace drivers which can be mounted in place of 18W8542 and seas 1" soft dome tweeter. I also believe I will have to redesign crossover for driver changes, but not sure even with redesign, I can get the right alignment of bass with existing enclosure and new drivers. But I want to try anyway.

Could you advise me whether this is feasible or not, which drivers to use, how to design crossovers, and internal dimension of Studio 200 enclosure, etc.?

I am looking forward to your kind advices.
Old 23rd January 2004, 04:41 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Can anybody help me??
Old 23rd January 2004, 09:20 PM   #3
sreten is online now sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Replacing the surrounds is the best option by far , even if you
have to do it every ten years or so, but it should be the case
the new surrounds are more resilient than the originals.

If the surrounds are not too far gone repairing the cracks
and a coating of proper rubber glue can help matters.