X-over thoughts with tweeter and fullrange - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th October 2014, 03:07 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default X-over thoughts with tweeter and fullrange

Hi all. I am new to speaker/xover design and not quite looking for the "perfect" balance....yet. But, what I could use is a little help from those who are experienced.

I have the following driver/tweeters and would like to pair them in the following manner.
Pair 1:
Dayton Audio RS75-4 3" Reference Full-Range Driver 4 Ohm
1/2" Mylar Dome Shielded Tweeter 8 Ohm

Pair 2:
HiVi B3N 3" Aluminum Driver Round Frame
Tang Band 13-1761S 1/2" Silk Dome Tweeter Pair

Can anyone make a recommendation on a good or maybe simple way to split the signal to these drivers?
Old 17th October 2014, 03:33 PM   #2
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Hi,

Both of those 3" drivers have enough top end that you may not need a tweeter. Many persons would be matching them with a woofer rather than a tweeter. What did you have in mind?
Old 17th October 2014, 03:58 PM   #3
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

+1 on Cal's comment.

dave
Old 17th October 2014, 04:12 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

If you have to use your existing drivers, the TB tweeter will probably work out OK with the 3" driver, but you must cross over to it pretty high (no lower than about 5kHz). The mylar dome tweeter is junk, and that is why you paid $1 for it. Seriously, throw it in the trash.

Of the 3" drivers, the RS75 is the clear winner there.