Help with first crossover

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
After much work on the speaker rebuild, I've finall got round to considering the xover.

I've ripped the old one out and done my best to draw a diagram of what it's doing (pic attached). I'm really lost here, because I don't know whether to just replace each component with a same value higher grade component, or reassess the crossover design completely (considering a different enclosure and changes in driver T/S parameters over the years). Do I need to mic measurements to design from scratch?

There's no markings on the inductors, so I don't know their values. Can someone also tell me what the resistor's job is in this scenario? (absolute newbie to this!)

I know that this is a second order design, but thats about it. So all help is much appreciated.

Attachments

• xover.gif
    xover.gif
    4.7 KB · Views: 425
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
bump

Hi Vikash,

Your post seems to have gone un-noticed (which is unusual considering the content)..... Must have been busy lately :)

I haven't designed any xovers yet, but after playing around with a mic and speaker workshop to do some measurements I'd highly recommend doing the measurements.

I was doing it on my existing speakers so I could learn a thing or two before starting on my next project. What did I learn? I learnt that no matter what xover freq's I used it wasn't going to help, because the drivers didn't have enough overlap!!!! If I was trying to tweak by ear I never would have been happy because it wasn't possible!!!!! The mic showed that up straight away, and in some respects, the existing crossover point's are probably reasonably optimal for the particular drivers, which is somewhat of a fluke since they are stock ones I bought from Jaycar years ago.