Modify old speakers to fit into a boat sound system

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Helllo, I'm a brand new member, and know very little about speaker electronics. I am a boat carpenter/woodworker/shipwright by trade. My interest in vintage audio is quite recent. I've been getting a big kick finding amazing audio gear for next to nothing.

My problem is space. I live on my 40 foot trawler and my "livingroom" or salon if you will is 8 ft by 8 ft. I don't want dinky little suroundsound speakers. I want to use Polk Audio Monitors 4.5's as background speakers. Being that they're ported can I discard the boxes and build the components into a cavity in the boat? Will they perform correctly?

Sure would appreciate any input.

The crossover components(electrical circuit in the speaker box that separates the sound for the tweeter and woofer) are designed around the dimensions of the speaker cabinet, so if you say flush mount them in a cavity or change the size or shape of the front panel(known as the baffle) they won't sound right.

What you can most likely do successfully is keep the baffle the same dimensions, and keep the same internal volume, but that might not be of any use to you by the sounds of it.

Being that they're ported can I discard the boxes and build the components into a cavity in the boat? Will they perform correctly?
Yes, they will. Foxx510's comments are correct, crossovers are designed around the baffle size and may compensate for the "baffle step" transition, but the Polk Audio Monitors 4.5 are designed as "bookshelf" speakers, implying they are often placed on a wall, similar to what you may be doing. Keep the cabinet volume and port sise and shape the same, and you will be good to go. Design the "toe in" to cross the center of the listening area.