A Comment & a Favor - When is bass not bass? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd September 2014, 01:38 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default A Comment & a Favor - When is bass not bass?

For a long time I have been wondering - When is bass no longer bass?

What I mean is, as the frequency goes up, at what frequency do I no longer perceive Bass and instead start to hearing Midrange?

Equally, when to I stop hearing Midrange and start hearing Treble?

Then, how can this help us in the design of crossovers?

Eventually I decided to test it, so I started playing Test Tone on my computer, which has a mid-priced consumer grade stereo attached to it. I found that around 300hz, I lost all sense of bass in the tone. Then as I continued to step upward, I lost all sense of Midrange around 3khz.

Then I tried something similar on my considerably larger main stereo system and got similar results.

So, in summary, I heard the transition from Bass to Mid at about 320hz, and I heard the transition from Mid to High at about 3200hz.

But I really don't have enough data to determine if this is a constant, or just something that randomly happened to me.

So, while it is an imposition, I wondered of others could run the same test and give me THEIR impression of where they heard the transition. Of course, the amp and speakers you used would help frame this in perspective. And perhaps the room size.

Finding 1/3rd or 1/6th Octave test tone collections is not difficult. You can find them posted all over the Internet.

You findings don't have to match mine. They are what they are. But I though if we collected a few diverse samples, we might start to see a pattern.