Newbie question/s

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi folks, I confess that I'm nervous about making this first post. I apologize in advance if I'm repeating a question that has been asked hundreds of times.

I have a pair of 12-year old Paradigm Monitor 7 speakers, from back in the days when I had no kids and the ability to spend money on such things. The left speaker now sounds a bit 'muddy' compared to the right. I'm guessing one of the drivers has blown, but I'm sure it could be any number of things. I noticed that one of the kids had pushed in the cone on one of the two mid-range drivers. I got it to 'pop' back out (sucked it out with a vacuum). That's the only 'cause' I can think of. I haven't been cranking music up or anything.

This issue has led me on a bit of a rabbit chase. I'm a professional woodworker with a full shop (and access to a CNC if need be). I was wondering if, instead of trying to get this speaker repaired, I might get better sound by building a new pair of speakers. I don't know if sound quality in speakers degrades over time or if driver technology has improved greatly in the last 12 years. If the answer to either of those questions is yes, then I'd be willing to give this a shot.

I'm not a true audiophile and a lot of the technical issues with speakers drivers/ crossovers make my eyes glaze over. I love woodworking, but wave science and physics and the number crunching of acoustics are waaaaaay over my head. I enjoy music and was one of those guys who used to go into the overpriced audio stores to drool over all the stuff I couldn't afford.