opinions for this woofer - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th March 2014, 08:54 AM   #1
Dlav is offline Dlav  United States
diyAudio Member

Question opinions for this woofer

Hello people
Any opinions on using the Dayton ST255-8 10" in a 3way hifi loudspeaker build. Would it be easy to work with? like crossing over with a midrange? This is my first time choosing a woofer. If not,what woofer would recommended for $100 each not sure about metal cones.

Thanks
Old 18th March 2014, 05:22 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi,
This 10" Dayton ST255-8 does not have a very extended response in the LF, but you can make an excellent speaker if you look for that perfect midrange driver. (I usually find the mid first but you can go otherwise). The 10" Dayton can go 93~ dB/2.83V/m (~92 dB/W/m), and more, it all depends of the alignment of the 3-WAY.
This 5" mid here should do right in a sealed small enclosure.
- Paper cone / cloth accordion surround for a natural, warm midrange tone
- Flat frequency response from 200 Hz to 6,000 Hz
- Sensitivity 89 dB 1W/1m
- Special Price $9.90
Old 18th March 2014, 10:33 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

For that money I'd be looking at SB acoustics... madisound kindly give you the alignments for most of them, which'll save you a massive amount of stress further down the road. Plus, all the SB acoustics gear measured by zaph have been very low in distortion.

Though my opinion may be tainted by getting some 5" SB's today and being blown away by there performance
Old 18th March 2014, 10:46 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

The metal cone would require a notch filter in the crossover, alternatives, SB or Visaton W250S, or Peerless 830668 - cheap, goes low but requires a big box...