My First Bookshelf Project - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th February 2014, 09:19 AM   #1
prasi is offline prasi  India
diyAudio Member

Default My First Bookshelf Project

Dear Experts,
I am new to speaker building. I have prepared a design based on Peerless India drivers. Woofer is 5.25" and tweeter is 26mm Silk Dome. I am attaching herewith a short ppt on the project. Please go through it and suggest improvements. If you need more information just reply to the post.

Regards
Prashant
Attached Files
File Type: pdf My two-way bookshelf project.pdf (298.2 KB, 306 views)
Old 11th February 2014, 10:02 AM   #2
just another
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Prasi, I suspect in answer to your question will it sound boomy, the answer may well be yes. It looks like you have modeled with a series resistance (in line with the woofer) of 0.8 ohms. Is that based on the DCR of the coil you are planning on using? 0.8 ohms is quite a lot and will drop the efficiency (but make it model somewhat better, and with bigger volume).

See attached the step response for your modeled 20L with 52.7 hz tuning and 0.8 ohms series resistance. Then compare to step response for 7L with 66Hz tuning and 0.3 ohms series resistance. The wiggles in the step response shows how long the driver takes to return to rest, the more wiggles the more boomy I think it will sound. This is the tradeoff for getting lower extention.

I've also attached a plot comparing the 20L 52.7Hz FR curve to 7L 66Hz FR curve. You can see that the 7L the bass extension is much less, but I suspect that subjectively it will sound better. You can always build two boxes and try each and see what the difference is, no better way to learn!!