Jeff Bagby Kairos near-wall

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is really a question for Jeff Bagby, however anyone with experience with these speakers please feel free to chime in:

Hi Jeff,

I've been considering what to build for a couple of months. One of the most important factors in my decision is that I am restricted to a fairly near-wall placement. The most distance between the back of the speaker and the wall that I can achieve is about one foot.
After narrowing it down from your Triton, Continuum, or Kairos, I'd pretty much decided to go for the Kairos and was getting excited about finally having made my decision when I read some post that said they are best placed several feet out into the room. However I can't find anything about placement in your write up about them on Meniscus (although maybe I missed it). Would this be a less than optimal placement for them? Would the Triton or Continuum be a better choice for near-wall placement?
Just a little background - I listen to all types of music, from full orchestra, to Black Sabbath, Mel Torme to Neil Young to Nora Jones. At all volumes. Never had much luck with integrating subs, nor do I have a lot of room, but I was willing to give it a shot again with the Continuums or Tritons. I've got a couple kicking around, or could possibly build down the road.
Power and current isn't a problem, I've got a DK Design Integrated that puts out 150w into 8 ohms and will happily double that into 4. Sources are a Marc Morinified AR XA turntable, and a pc with flac and wav through JRiver into a Micromega MyDac.
I also considered Jim Holtz and Curt Cambell's Finalist, since it is configurable for both near and far-wall placement. Any suggestions you have would be greatly appreciated. I plan to build something in the very near future.

Thanks,

Jamie

How's the listening room constructed, are the walls made of soft or hard materials?