First DIY Loudspeakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey,

I am looking to start my first DIY project, I am a recent EE grad with a good understanding of the fundamentals.

After some reading a lot of people suggest starting with a proven design, my goal is to put together a pair of tower speakers with 1 or 2 mid range drivers and a single tweeter (w crossovers).

Here are 2 of the designs I like the looks of:

https://sites.google.com/site/undefinition/diy/amiga

Zaph|Audio - ZRT - Revelator Tower

Looking for some help with a couple questions:

1. Best place to start to get the project rolling / whether these design are good for 1st project or too complex

2. What type of receiver do i need / how much power output / whether I should custom build my own amp for my system

3. Best things to know when starting a DIY project (tips, hints / road blocks from experience).

Really anything to help a new guy get started on his own project.

Thanks,

Luke

Both of those seem to be well documented designs, so possibly a good choice and either one should give very good results. How are your wood working shills?.Since the hard stuff had been done with these(x over design etc) it leaves you with building some decent boxes. If your not able then you may want to pick something that uses comercially available boxes.

Why are you doing this? Do you want to save money on speakers? Are you bored? Is your wife so picky no commercial enclosures make her happy? Do you want to show off your EE skills?

If the goal is fun or learning:
1) Go through Zaph's site and finding drivers that fit your needs and budgets
2) play with everything on paper
3) build a protype with MDF
4) learn to measure really well and modify your design
5) build it for real
6) start over with a new project

If the goal is just wanting better speakers or doing some woodworking:
1) Pick the best kit in your budget for your design