A mod/challenge for you speaker builder/rebuilder geniuses!!!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a newbie, novice, neophyte to building speakers. I have thought of starting with a simple build like a Voight pipe or an open baffle project.

Lately I have been pondering my old DCM Timeframe 700's that I have had since new. I bought them because at the time I liked the sound(imaging etc.) and style of planar speakers for my budget!

The DCM's speakers had the look of the planar and a sound(fast transients and imaging) that my previous speakers Cerwin Vega HED 15's did not.

Now I am wondering since they have been mothballed for a few years (I currently use Totems) that before I try a speaker build from scratch, I should try a rebuild 1st as I still enjoy the styling of the cabinets.

So here is the challenge. Who has ideas as to how to get the most out the cabinets? What mods,(drivers/wiring/crossovers) would be best for this cabinet and really be a real sonic upgrade from the originals? project

Attachments

• dcm_time_frame_700_speakers_for_sale.jpg
    dcm_time_frame_700_speakers_for_sale.jpg
    93.8 KB · Views: 253
Last edited by a moderator:
Those speakers are FLAT ! What were they thinking in Ann Arbor, Mi ?
I would start from the cabinet itself !

But then...it would become an ordinary box like thousands else.
Why would it have to be? It could have a protruding center baffle of say an additional 3-4" thickness and slope out the the edge as is. Make use of the baffle width. That would be good for a variety of reasons.

I would start by getting them up to spec- replace any foam surrounds that aren't holding up, and any electrolytic caps in the crossover, preferably with decent (not necc expensive) polys, or charge-coupled inexpensive polys.