Two-way coaxial loudspeakers with molded waveguides

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005
Good questions. I'm not an expert in this area, so please guide me if I get too deep in the forest... :eek:

neither am I, but I think the waveguide will make the 8" 'appear' bigger, and thus lower its optimal 'xo point', maybe

hmm, and I do not know exactly, but I expect a coax mounted tweeter will need a somewhat higher xo point, due to the less than optimal horn load

but maybe your waveguide will improve the tweeter load, and make a lower xo point possible

might need a little fiddle back and forth to find the best xo :scratch2:

neither am I, but I think the waveguide will make the 8" 'appear' bigger, and thus lower its optimal 'xo point', maybe

might need a little fiddle back and forth to find the best xo :scratch2:

A shallow horn like that, or like these in the link, has more effect than one might expect. In any horn system, the crossover will have to accommodate /eq the raw response to be flat and in the ones in the picture (uses an 8 inch coax) the gain over a direct radiator begins around 120Hz. This eq also means for a given sound level, there is less power going to the driver than if one had the direct radiating case and so one has less distortion as well etc.
The driver in the SH100 has a rear mounted compression driver and so the cone is part of the horn. As a result, one wants the new added horn flare to match up with the line projected by a straight edge lying on the cone body (no discontinuity in angle, minimum discontinuity in area).