HT surrounds, Dipoles, Zobels

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to all this, as will be obvious as you read this. I am planning the 3 back channel speakers for my HT. I have 6 4 in. "full-range" drivers and Would like to use these in pairs, wired in series, in dipole/open baffles. I would prefer them to be as unobtrusive as possible. I am not particularly worried about bass, as they will never see anything lower than 80-100 Hz. I'm also not worried too much about the top end, since my hearing rolls off pretty sharply after 8000Hz (Too much Hendrix back in the 60's) Driver Qt is .76 BTW. I have read a lot in this and other forums, and I am confused on several points. Please excuse the crude drawing, but I think you can get the point.

1. Alignment - Some say the drivers should be in the center of the baffle, as close together as possible. Others say to offset the drivers, but how and how much? Which of these 3 alignments would be best, or is there another?

2. Baffle shape - #1 is goimg to be just too large. #2 & 3 would be better I guess. I haven't seen anyone talk about a curved baffle, but it seems to me it would work just as well, if not better. How about alignment #2 on a curved baffle? Too diffuse? Remember these are for the surround channels.

3. The info I have seen on baffle size says that to get 80 Hz, you need a 40 in./16 cm baffle, which seems huge, especially for a couple of 4 in. drivers. Is that measured from the center of the driver front to back? Does it really have to be that big? I assume you also measure over the top and around bottom too. There seems to be a lot of very technical discussion of this, but it seems to center on how to get bass.