Help me with my first DIY speaker Build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
EDIT: Check below posts for more info on the drivers i have and a better explanation of my problem(s).

First of all thank you for checking my thread!

I'm having trouble finding the correct sub forum to post so i thought the lounge would probably be the best place to ask sorry if i messed up i just wanted someone to point me to the right direction before i start posting in the wrong sub forums.

So i'm kinda new to DIY and i wanted to ask about maybe building some enclosure for some drivers i have recently found and i would love to maybe get some tips on what kind of set up i should use them maybe talk about crossover frequencies and help me find some specs on some of the drivers.

I almost forgot to mention that while i'm new to audio DIY i've done other projects, i know how to solder, cut wood and i've done a bit of research on enclosures (vents, materia, volume etc.) and i could probably build a crossover to suit my needs although i still don't know what those are and thats why i'm here!

Thanks for reading. :cheers:

Last edited:
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
I'm no expert on speaker design but I can start the ball rolling.

Easy bit first. The crossover is a small passive network using resistors, capacitors and inductors that "splits" the input signal into frequency bands suited to each driver. For example a woofer can't reproduce hf and so we don't even attempt to feed it such. A tweeter would be burned out by large high amplitude lower frequencies and so again we would filter those out.

You need to understand (as in look up and research) how capacitors and inductors behave.

Mega oversimplification... caps pass the hf and inductors filter out the hf

So a crossover is a combination of all these components but it should be designed to suit the drivers.