Thoughts on a complex situation.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, everyone.

My name is Nishit and I'm from India. I am primarily a music lover. I mostly listen to pop/rock music. Not too much of jazz. Although I LOVE classical music, I don't have nearly as much experience there. On top of that I have very little experience with live music. I have never been to a mainstream artists concert. The only ones I've been to, are, some local indie bands in an amateur college fest and a acoustic girl-with guitar in an intimate pub setting.

Having said that, I do have a fairly discrete sense of listening. I have mild OCD and that may contribute to it. I tend to listen to the production in music I am hearing for the first time. My friend, who is an audio engineer remarks often that I "really" listen with my ears. It' subjective ofcourse. I usually download vinyl rips since they have less dynamic compression. One last thing that may be OT, is that I had an experience with cannabis a couple of years back. That experience really changed the way I listen to music. In that I tend to listen to the musical aspects of harmony, melody and rhythm now.

After that long introduction, a bit about my ambitions towards better sound. I'll try and keep it short.

My only reference point for decent sound is my Alessandro MS1 headphones(modified Grado RS80/125). My speakers are really cheap HT type 2.1s. They have mdf cabinets for the sat and subs. And are pretty good for nearfield, low volume listening. I am looking for speakers with a wider sweet spot. Preferably where two people can listen without having their heads in a vice. Now, I have a chance of building my first pair of decent speakers. The idea is to get the drivers and electronics from the USA. Since the choices here are limited. I am on a budget though.