Advice on Driver Choices for 3-way, 4 woofer design (listed in thread)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am still new to DIY audio and am still learning everything. It's a steep learning curve and it will take a long longer to absorb the knowledge.

That said, with some help from an old thread I wanted to design a speaker that could compete with the Paradigm S8's. jReave spent a large amount of time helping me, thanks!

My plan of attack is the following:
Tweeter QTY 1- ScanSpeak Illuminator D3004/6600 AirCirc

Mid QTY 1 -Scanspeak 15M/4531K Revelator 5.5" Midrange

Woofers QTY 4 - Exodus Anarchy
Woofers would be wired in a 2-parallel-series configuration for 8ohm.

I realize these are fairly high end drivers, especially for my first DIY, however my goal was to find something that competes and performs close to the S8's. I realize this is ambitious for a first build but I like the buy once cry once style.

Power:
Rotel RMB-1091 Monoblocks (have them already)
Rated 500watt RMS 8ohm, measured 600+
Rated 1kwatt RMS 4ohm, measured 1200+

What are your thoughts on the driver selection?

I need to continue reading and learning for enclosure design, baffle design, and crossover design. I know I can learn it, it will just take time. Thanks for the patients and help!

Hi,

My advice would be walk before you can run.

Given that PM's advice is just simply wrong. 4 woofers
can be too efficient, but cannot be not efficient enough.

However your ambition way exceeds your knowledge,
and you won't learn much trying to go for broke 1st.

I'd say build these : Zaph|Audio - ZDT3.5
with an emphasis on cabinet issues to start off with.
Like most good designs the cabinets can be improved.

And FWIW given the design the cabinet issues are not that
complicated as an issue to optimise for the design particulars,
as you only really have to look at the bottom end issues.