Measuring the SPL of loudspeaker at home.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2013
Recently, I have bought a Dayton Audio UMM-6 USB Measurement Microphone to measure my loudspeaker's SPL (vs freq). I am quite new to this thing.

I have read somewhere that measuring the SPL vs frequency of a loudspeker or a driver fairly acurately is possible at home using a laptop and some software. The software is supposed to measure the effect of the room first and take that into consideration while measuring the SPL of the loudspeaker.

Is such a task possible with True-RTA? How?
Is there a tutorial link somewhere?

How am I supposed to connect the laptop to the speaker? I have a Moon 220i integrated amplifier at home.

I would greatly appreciate any help and info.

Thanks.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
HOLMImpulse is a good software to use, and it's free. You can get a lot of help here using it. HOLM should see your USB mic as an input.

You'll need something linear as an output to your speakers. The soundcard line out of your computer may be good enough.

The frequency response of your amplifier should be wide enough and flat enough for your measurements. Just make sure that you bypass all of the audio effects in your laptop before running the tests. You won't need much amplifier power either. Follow the directions from the HOLM website.

Disclaimer: I am only faintly familiar with True-RTA. But generally, Real-Time Analyzers are NOT set up to window reflections out of a measurement, and so cannot get you the response of only the speaker. You'd also miss narrow notches or peaks in response.

Having said that, you could try it with the speakers outside on top of a high ladder, far from any buildings, and it will give you a decent rough idea of what is going on