1st order xover question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Allen,
Again thanks for your insight. I'm a speaker building amateur, but isn't the resonant frequency 1700hz. If I cross them at 3500hz wouldn't they work? I pretty sure the Altec woofer can handle it, because they came out with a Series II version of the same speaker and changed the cabinet volume by about +130 cu in and raised the xover from 3khz to 3.5 khz. Wouldn't your 3.3uf cap recommendation earlier work?

Speaker manufactured in 1976. Tweeters look like there is some wear, surrounds are good but paper cone a bit distorted.
Solen makes caps inexpensive caps. What you say? Any recommendation of other brands of metalized film caps?

Jantzen, Dayton Audio, and many others. The brand isn't as important as the type -

Film and Foil Capacitors -

Film and Foil Capacitors in the Speaker Components Department at Parts Express | 295

Metalized Polypropylene -

Metalized Polypropylene Capacitors in the Speaker Components Department at Parts Express | 294

Here is a Dayton Audio 6.2uF for $2.83 -

Dayton Audio DMPC-6.2 6.2uF 250V Polypropylene Capacitor 027-427

And a Dayton 2uF for $1.48 -

Dayton Audio DMPC-2.0 2.0uF 250V Polypropylene Capacitor 027-414

The thing you probably do NOT want is the Non-Polarized Electrolytic -

2.2uF 100V Non-Polarized Capacitor 027-324

For the slight difference in price, there is simply no point in buying the Non-Polar Electrolytic.

Steve/bluewizard

As someone mentioned you have to measure the impedance at the crossover point. Is there an impedance curve for the tweeter you want to use? It sounds like you are hearing the classic problem of a 1st order network namely that whenever the two speakers are reproducing the same frequency at roughly the same levels, there will be interference between them, reinforcing some frequencies or cancelling others.

Last edited:
diyAudio Moderator