newbie trying to build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Yep I'm a newbie and after couple days of reading stuff I decideded to register. I don't have a comp so no test equip possible atm and on a limited budget.

So I'm gonna take a shot at getting old out of date speakers, gotta love 8 track era lol. And use the speakers from all the stuff I can find. Might take a while but gonna give it a shot. So any suggestions at this moment would be helpfull.

I do have some drivers. And after opening there is no xover or anything and a cardboard for the port tube. Which kinda made me go ummm can we say cheaply made... Sigh but I'm hoping that with a little bit of luck and some current engineering along with halfway known values for volume of speakers, insulation inside etc and crossover I might get something decent.

I read ya all hate Bose and ya they are like cheap speakers. And going to attemp to make 4 seperate speakers for each corner of the room etc.

Question can a car sub work for a home sub if I buy a plate amp. I saw some JBL 12 subs for sale , but I do have a pair of Kenwood 10 sub I could use.

The sub box would be a speaker on each side so the back reflection of sound would be against the opposite speaker with insulation between each speaker thereby reducing the amount back noise?

Any thoughts for a newbie who is gonna try something out instead of just running to a store?

Finally found my post but is it possible to built it so the outside of the midrange has a face cover so it directs the sound waves to attempt a 3d effect ? Or is it better to buy a horn in front of mid and woofer both to do the 3d effect or has anyone tryed this yet?