Choosing between three mid drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Nope, not the 130Z0. On relative output I suspect the spec. sheet figure for the power handling of the 10F is conservative, based on experience- but admittedly not on controlled measurements. Depending where you are in the UK Kev, I could lend you a pair of 10Fs and a pair of 100Z0s to try out.

Face, I'm using WinISD pro, though I'm no expert at it; for the HM130Z0 I'm getting a peak of around 0.656mm at 310hz, using a 4th order high pass at 300Hz in a sealed enclosure of 1.9L and at the rated power of 50w - giving me around 108dB (winISD has calculated its efficiency at 91.29dB; a tad less than the spec sheet).

For the SS 10F 8424G00 in the same scenario I'm getting around 0.5mm peak, and 99dB at its rated power of 15w - WinISD has calculated its efficiency at 87.75dB. If I go to 4x the rated power I get 105dB, but that makes me a bit nervous.

Have I got something wrong again?

Cheers
kev

Thanks Toaster, it does look interesting, thanks also for the very kind offer; I'm in Derby, but also probably a long way from doing anything 'real' yet so we'll see where this thread takes me.

Regarding the power rating being conservative, I had an idea - I wonder if I'm completely wrong to consider that the 20dB 'headroom' suggested by the THX reference should be within the nominal power of the drivers. It seems a sensible amount for peaks, but possibly I should treat it as short term power (largely insignificant extra heating), and just ensure I have the headroom in the amp voltage and Xmax? It somewhat goes against my belt-and-braces nature but it would make many more drivers possible.

Cheers
kev

Last edited:
Ran a couple sims on the HM130Z0 driver and show if it's in a sealed box exceeds Xmax below ~175Hz @50w with a max spl of ~105dB/1w/1m. Next up was in a BR hitting Xmax 200Hz @50w with a spl of 109