Hi and a question on 2.1 systems

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I'm a general enthusiast when it comes to building things with my own hands, and I have always liked music systems. I always had quite a nice stereo set (2 home-built 3-way speaker, Rotel pre-amp, NAD amp, Sony QS series CD player, ...). I'm a physicist by trade, and in my spare time I build bikes. I know how to solder decently and I understand a bit of electronics. But as I see enough electronics in my workplace, I generally prefer working with more crude tools when I get home. :)

Now my girlfriend was never a big fan of the huge, black 3-ways, and so when on a flea market she spotted some old Grundig 70's funky design speakers (came with a broken amp/turntable combo), I bought them for almost nothing with the plan to make them into a little project of speakers we both would like (looks and sound)

The speakers are little spheres of brushed Al, and after removing the oooooold stuf that was inside, now they house small full range fostex FF85wk's with a small reflex port. No filters.

The sound in the mids is fine, but compared to the 3-ways, I miss the bass.

So now my plan is to add a sub to the system. I have a single, highly efficient 12" paper cone woofer still lying around somewhere that I could use. So that will definitely be the next project.

Now for the questions: My amp (the NAD 216 THX) is stereo, and so will not be able to drive the woofer. Or I bridge it, and then I need something else to drive the full range speakers. In any case: I will need to change my amp configuration. But what is the best choice?

I wouldn't mind keeping the 3-ways and the NAD together, as they make quite a perfect combo. And I have to buy an amp anyway, so why not get a 2.1 amp straight away, and be done with it?