Crossover explanation - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th June 2013, 11:43 PM   #1
Mrhjelm is offline Mrhjelm  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default Crossover explanation

I am quite new to passiv xover design and can not really understand what Troels Gravesen is adding in hos xovers

If you look at Jenzen-Illuminator he adds some resistors in parallell/series. Is this to acheive correct/increase impedance or what are the reason for these? From what I have read the parallell resistors should be of a higher value than the series if this is an L-pad and keep impedance at the same.

Appreciate if someone can explain the need of resistors R2021 & R2051 for the mid and R1011, R1031, R1041 & R1051 for the tweeter.
Also are there any reason why he do not combine R1011 & R1041?

Do not laugh, I am trying to learn from the pros here
/Mattias
Old 20th June 2013, 12:49 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

In some cases, and always so when the Coil and the Resistor have the same number, the Resistor represent the internal resistance of the Coil.

So, R2041 represent the resistance of the wire making up the coil L2041.

The various components in parallel with the various drivers are a Zobel Network which stabilizes the impedance of the driver at higher frequencies outside the working range of the driver/crossover.

In other locations I suspect the Resistor/Capacitor or Resistor/Capacitor/Coils are fine tuning of the frequency response. They are traps to moderate peaks in the response.

And the remaining bulk of the components are just standard crossover components.

I would say, anytime a resistance is a fraction of an ohm, it is the internal resistance of some component or a residual resistance in the circuit.