2-way bookself xo point - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th May 2013, 07:22 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Arrow 2-way bookself xo point

Hi all

I'm building a 2-way bookshelf for my mom to use with the tv (subwoofer to be added later) and some light lounge music.

The system employs a 4" mid-woofer and a waveguide mounted tweeter.

Driver selection was based on what I had in hand and I'm considering Rod Elliot's Parametric and Sub-Woofer Equaliser to smooth out the tweeter response - would that be worth the effort?

I'd be bi-amping the speakers (TA2020's for the tweets and LM3886's for the mid-woofers) and am thinking of 24dB/oct LR xo. I am a bit lost on the XO point - I'm not too good at deciphering an optimum XO point form the graphs... would someone help me with this

I used Fabien Lefebvre's MESSON app on my iPhone 4s for the measurements, the graphs are done in Excel with the exported data. I forgot to use the same gain settings for the tweeter and the mid-woofer, however, as I would be adjusting the gain at the active xo, I figure it would not present itself to be much of a problem...

Click the image to open in full size.

I'd really appreciate guidance from the fine folks of this forum

Thank you in advance

Regards
Attached Images
File Type: gif MidWoofer in box.gif (13.7 KB, 63 views)
File Type: gif Waveguide Tweeter.gif (27.0 KB, 63 views)

Last edited by merajsalek; 16th May 2013 at 07:46 PM. Reason: Forgot to credit Rod :(
Old 17th May 2013, 05:00 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

re:"4" mid-woofer and a waveguide mounted tweeter" do you make & model number?
I don't really think it's worth bi-amping a 2-way like this.
The graphs are a bit hard to interpret, it looks like a crossover freq of ~3Khz would work