What would you do with a load of revelator drivers??? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th May 2013, 08:52 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default What would you do with a load of revelator drivers???

Hi guys,

Recently I picked up 4 scan speak 15w/8531K00 mid woofers and a pair of D63004/660000 tweeters. Grabbed them as they were cheap and I'd always planned on buying them one day.

when I have time and money I'll build them into a propper 3-way set up, but in the mean time it seemed a waste to have them 'laying around'.

So what would you do with them?
What would be a fast and 'safe' build?
I was thinking ported MTM, buit this is my first time with a build like this.

At the moment it would seem a 32L ported enclosure would give me reasonably flay response down to about 50hz, and 'useable' response to 30.

Also, from the fr data alone i was planning on xo at 1khz, but almost all the revelator designs seem to xo at about 1750.

I'm pretty concerned about the high efficiency of the tweeter vs the woofers, and have read online that a LCR pad is almost always needed with a 660000 rather than a standard L-pad, but I only have experience with the later?

Any ideas and suggestions are welcomed, be it open baffle, sealed enclosure, ported, even TL! basically what would you do as a cheap, safe build?
(by safe I mean 'predicatable or adjustable performance' prior to building!
Old 11th May 2013, 02:25 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi, troels gives some directions using the midwoofer but with other ss tw. IMHO I would go for an active crossover, the dsp is so cheap and with two dedicated amps and a flexible crossover to change "on the fly" the frequency, delay, phase, it is just so easy to have an very good sounding speaker...