Well documented speaker projects/kits

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Umm after I finish school this time next year I probably want to make myself some nice sounding speakers. Budget is anywhere around $1300AU ($900US). I will not be making my own design as Im no audio engineer. I want to be directly copying from renowned projects/kits.

Criteria would be:

a 2 way
Very well documented, time proven design
woofer(s) should be 6.5". Or can be 5" MTM.
The most accurate sound within the budget.
Im looking at high-end offerings from Focal, SS,etc being used.
I can do much better with that amount of money than Vifa, Dayton, etc.

RIght now Im looking at the ProAc Response 2.5 Clones. However I think I might do a little better.

What about copying the many kits from Zalytron? Are they proven? They do use very good drivers and components.

Theres an aussie distributor for exotic offerings from cabasse, accuton,etc. I might want to use these but there are no well reviewed projects on them I can find.

any suggestions?

Any decent speaker can please me as Im used to listening to second hand hi-fi bought from garage sales. :angel: Thus I have no particular taste when it comes to speakers. (I admit I would prefer speakers with decent bass)

Ever heard of an australian company called VAF research,
they sell really good kitsVAF

they sell them with a variety of options, the one i would recomend is the DC-X, its a 2way floorstander with dual 8" woofers in an MTM configuration, it uses Audax drivers. they sound amazingly open and have huge power and grace. they go very very low and are very transperant.

you can get them with or without cabinets, constucted or not, and with or without upgraded wiring, and of course in a variety of finishes, without boxes they are just over $1000AUS, and worth every penny