Best place to start for a beginner?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm looking for a good starting point, I'm a college student with an interest in speaker building but am having trouble finding good starting points. I'd considered some books like the Loudspeaker Design Cookbook and Building, Designing, and Testing Your Own Speaker System by David Weems, but everything I've read has been that they're dated and all of the sites I've come across through some decently thorough googling has only brought up sites and things around 10 years old.

I have a rather dated 5.1 system that I'm looking to replace as my first bit of project. Ideally it'd be a center channel MTM and four more MT's for the fronts and surrounds, but I'm having trouble finding detailed information on how to calculate crossovers.

I'm on a budget and am trying to keep things cheap, ideally under $500 for all five speakers (my sub is fine). I live in an apartment and after I graduate I will for a bit so I'm in a relatively small, boxy room for the next few years. I'm not looking for anything crazy. I'm looking for the most basic upgrade from my current speakers which are just 4" full rangers in boxes, but I'm the type of person that doesn't think things are worth doing if they're not going to be done right.

If there are any good recent books or any good sites I would appreciate the direction as well as hopefully any pointers that might be helpful. Thanks in advance.

TL;DR: new to speaker design, looking to replace 5.1 HT speakers cheaply, where do I begin?

Lots of kits available in the US! :D
DIY Speaker Components | Replacement Speakers | and Speaker kits from Meniscus Audio Group
Madisound Speaker Kits for DIY Speaker Builders
Speaker Kits in the Speaker Components Department at Parts Express | 286

For more discussion of designs, try these:
https://sites.google.com/site/undefinition/diy
DIY Loudspeakers