First crossover assembly

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys, I'm new to speaker building and am doing Paul Carmody's Hitmakers as my first project, and just wanted to post a picture of the crossover before i glue it to make sure that everything is set up properly.

Crossover Schematics:
Hitmakers%20XO%20%28DA175%20version%29.jpg

My crossover: (Sorry for bad quality)
qqpb1s.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Nobody can judge whether it is correct or not because (1) your photo doesn't show where the speakers and amp connect to the network, (2) your photo doesn't show what values of capacitance, inductance and resistance are connected where, , and (3) the connections and the components(s) at the top of the photo are not visible.

There are some photo-editing programs that would allow you to add component values to the photo, but of course you don't necessarily have such a program.

Really, it would be fairly simple for you to decide for yourself by carefully comparing what you have soldered together to the schematic of the cross-over network.

One inductor on its side and the other one upright is correct to reduce interaction between the two fields.

Regards,
Pete

Last edited:
No doubts- math it's not an opinion....
The input is at the left, power to the woofer is taken from the joints from the coil, the little cap paralleled to it and the cap that goes to ground; the ground point is at the right where the parallel to ground coil of the 2nd order filter refers to, as also the parallel to ground resistor of the tweeter which is part of the L-pad, indeed the signal going to the tweeter is taken at the joint of the two resistors, up right.
Also, if physic's not an opinion, my suggestion for keeping the circuit out of the box...

Thanks for the responses, and sorry the picture was so unclear, but picowallspeaker was correct in his interpretation of it.