System Pictures & Description

@Porsche I appreciate the equipment and arrangement in your photo. Since this is a DIY forum, and you made the speakers that appear in the photo, I'd like to say they are amazing. I look at photos to see things, and these speakers are pretty awesome looking. I would not post my system as in a photo because not a single component is made by me. I'm just getting started, but having fun along the way. The fact that what I've assembled looks like someone's nightmare (its actually pretty cool!) doesn't come into play, just that not a single component was made by me, not even the bails of owens-corning in the corners:)

Reactions: 1 user
I don't post much here, mostly because I don't venture much farther into DIY audio than buying kits and throwing them in custom chassis (I'm a fabricator, not an electronics engineer).

My main system uses an old set of Martin Logan Aerius I electrostatic speakers. These have Dayton Reference 8" woofers mounted to custom laser cut steel baffles. Both the panel and woofer are electronically crossed over with a Dayton DSP 408. Amplification is a Jeff Rowland model 1 and a Crown XLS.

They sounded amazing in my apartment but in my new house with hardwood everything and almost zero soft objects they really need some work, they don't sound great. Overall they're cool speakers to play with and definitely leave a lot on the table in stock from.

1000002599.jpg
20230219_123652533.jpg

20230218_141859186.jpg

Reactions: 1 user
Sorry Mr. Porsche,
you cannot convince me that you have spent all the effort for such a professional build with all the electroacoustic engineering and craftsmanship effort just for fun.
The probably most well kept secret is how much the pair of speakers cost the customer that ordered them.