diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Multi-Way (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/)
-   -   Aura NS6-255-8A 6" in a 12 L ported box (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/231350-aura-ns6-255-8a-6-12-l-ported-box.html)

ATAUDIO 4th March 2013 05:25 PM

Aura NS6-255-8A 6" in a 12 L ported box

I am planning to put those drivers each in a box of about 20 x 30 (baffle) x 20 cm (deep) box, (8" x 12" x 8") as a woofer only. That would account to 12 l , a little less than 1/2 cu. ft. I would like to make a cutout port on the shorter side, about 20 x 2.5 cm (8" x 1"), deep as needed, probably about 15 cm (6") as a port.
The midrange-tweeter would be stacked over, in a separate chamber.
Do you think it is feasible? Could you give me some hint how to to simulate it? I am a total beginner in this field.
I do noot need exceptional bass, 80-100 Hz cutoff would do for me.

If the box would be too small, I could put it in communication with the midrange chamber, getting about another 8 L, so a total of 20 L, a little more than 2/3 cu. ft.

jReave 4th March 2013 06:30 PM

Don't port it at all - leave it sealed for an f3 of about 75Hz.

Do not under any circumstances use the same chamber for the woofer and the mid - they each need their own separate space.

There are many free programs to simulate box responses - I'm fond of Unibox, UniBox - Unified Box Model for Loudspeaker Design, but you must have Excel. Try WinISD if you don't, LinearTeam

No offense intended, but if you can't figure out how to model the box response, I don't know how in the world you are going to figure out how to correctly implement a 3-way cross-over?

Perhaps start instead by following a proven design that uses that Aura driver:
The Aurbacks Aura NS6-255 and Vifa BC25SC TM
The Maurbacs Maurbacs NS6 MTM
The Stentorians Speaker Design Works

Best of luck

SpirosZ 4th March 2013 06:39 PM

WinISD suggests a 45.6 lt vented box tuned at 40,5 Hz.