Stacking speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This probably a newbie question, but I'm a newbie, so I hope you all are forgiving.

I'm considering building a pair of 2-way kits (SEAS Idunn kits) and combining them with a pair of SB or Scanspeak 12" subwoofers (also kits).

Would there be any prob using the subs as stands for the Idunns (with an additional supporting post, about 6" high, to bring the Idunns to ear level)?

I'm worrying about transmitting vibration form the subs to the Idunns. But most 3-way systems use drivers which are all bolted to the same baffle, so I wondering whether this worry is idle.

Any advice?

The question is whether or not the two systems can be practically integrated, in terms of frequency range and sensitivity. Most likely the low-frequency cut-off the two-way or f3 is compatible with the upper frequency limit of the sub-woofer, but that might be a problem. Is the sub-woofer a passive speaker system only, or is a dedicated amplifier included?

If you are willing to work with separate power amplifiers for the two-way and sub-woofer, that would make integrating them easier. On the downside, then, however, you are dealing with more equipment than if the same amplifier drives the two-way and sub-woofer.

If you use the same (power) amplifier to drive both sub-woofer and two-way (per stereo channel), then relative sensitivity is a big question. Usually a sub- woofer will have much less sensitivity than a two-way. As the idea is to have flat frequency response, that presents a problem.

I don't think that vibration from the sub-woofer to the two-way would present a problem, but I could be wrong, not having much experience in that area. If that is a problem, I'm sure that there is some way that you could isolate the vibration while still using the sub-woofer as a stand.