Decent 3-way floor standers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th January 2013, 12:54 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Decent 3-way floor standers

Im looking at making a set of 3 way floor standing speakers for music and movie watching. I am by no means an 'audiophile' but can appreciate good sounding equipment.

I'm an engineer and Ive made a few loud speakers before.

My idea is to use 8" PVC soil pipe with a wooden baffle cut into one side for the tweeter and mid. This may extend the whole length of the floorstanding speaker, or I just the top foot or so and with a down firing sub at the bottom end.

My first question is what would be a good drive to use for the down-firing subs (i.e. 6-1/2 woofer) I was looking at the Tand Band W6-1139SIF. the internal volume of the cabinet for the sub probably needs to be limited to about 26 litres.

Any help would be gratefully received. Ill post with some more info soon (after work).

Matt
Old 25th January 2013, 07:36 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

No recomendations?
Old 25th January 2013, 10:05 AM   #3
Jay is offline Jay  Indonesia
diyAudio Member

How about just building a proven design? There are many on the web, from low budget to expensive ones. Some good ones have been mentioned a few times in this site.

It is not a good idea (financially, when related to performance) building your own design unless you are tied to certain unpopular drivers.
Old 25th January 2013, 11:23 AM   #4
Dissi is offline Dissi  Switzerland
diyAudio Member