diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Multi-Way (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/)
-   -   Designing an MTM for Home Theater (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/226930-designing-mtm-home-theater.html)

Siggma 3rd January 2013 02:02 AM

Designing an MTM for Home Theater

Hi all. My name is Tom and I'm an Amateur hobbyist speaker builder. I'm working on a project to replace all my current satellites and center speakers in my home theater. I live in an apartment and am currently using a KEF C1 bookshelf speaker set (4 of them) for satellites and a KEF C6LCR for center duty. I don't like the way it sounds. The satellites produce copious quantities of sound below port cutoff that overwhelms the room with LF energy and muddies up the sub crossover. I also don't like the brassy sound of the KEF tweeter. I've already chosen and purchased the woofers I'll use which also pins down the cabinet size as well. I was going to use a Visaton W130S for the woof but my test speaker indicates it will be lacking in midrange clarity. My second choice was an Aurum Cantus AC130MKII, chosen for it's bass extension (85-90hz .2? sealed) and it's low distortion. The choice was also influenced by the fact that I found 6 of them for 1/3 off regular price and shipping on all of them for $25 so I now own them.