Crossover design questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I bought a DIY 2 way speaker system using Vifa drivers and the crossover network puzzles me. The system sounds fairly balanced and smooth so it seems to work.

Anyway here is the schematic, I couldn't read the value of the bottom inductor but it is definitely between 1mH and 1.8mH.

Main questions are:

-Is this some sort of series crossover?

-Looks like a 1st order HP? Or is there something in the path back through the woofer?

-Dual inductors on the woofer? Bass enhancement maybe?

Please help, I wan't to know what they were thinking. :)

Thanks.

Attachments

• nok.jpg
    nok.jpg
    78.3 KB · Views: 192
I am no expert, but it looks like a second order Series crossover.
The First order is 5.5Uf across the Woofer and .56 H across the tweeter.
The other Cap in series with the tweeter gives the second order roll off.
Ditto for the Other Inductor.

I know that series crossovers model in Soundeasy (I have done it),
The Series crossover in the Modula MT drove my brother crazy.
If it works, so much the better.

HTH

Doug

The circuit of the xover is for a second order series layout as DougL says,however the component values do not appear to correspond to text book values.Perhaps knowing the speaker impedances would provide more clues.

Yes, yes, yes. The combined result is the acoustic response (drivers , placement, and baffle) added to the electrical network that includes the driver model ( far more than the inductance, D'Appolito has a decent model). A book crossover is just a place to start. It will never be optimum.

Joined 2010
Paid Member