Could this be good MLTL Newbie

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi.

Planing a ML-TL for my livingroom, I am new to this so I would like som comments about it and if I should change something.

Please give me input for a suitable HF driver and X overpoint.

Regards

Fredrik Sweden

Attachments

• hornresprcf15554.png
    hornresprcf15554.png
    284.2 KB · Views: 224
Bump nobody?

Hi Fredrik,

Be patient..;)

..Planing a ML-TL for my livingroom, I am new to this so I would like som comments about it and if I should change something..Please give me input for a suitable HF driver and X overpoint...

I think you understand how to use HR..You've done a good job simulating a traditional ML-TL, I did a small investigation on limits you may run into when using this Driver/Enclosure combination:

b:)

PS: I would choose additional driver(s) depending on the woofer height above the floor..
In case you intend to place the sub Driver as close as possible to the floor I would pick a XO no higher than ~145 Hz and use a LR4 LPF that would bring 250 Hz 20 dB down in order to not corrupt ear height localization, thus avoiding the the speaker image spread(localized Phantoms) to appear near the floor and giving floor heavy impression.

Attachments

• RCF_L15-554K.jpg
    RCF_L15-554K.jpg
    753.7 KB · Views: 168
Thanks Bjorno

I dont understand all your info i the picture. I will read it several more times today and perhaps I get somethin out of it.:)

This is supposed to be a 2-way MLTL speaker and I am hoping to have XO point at about 1500-2000Hz depending on the HF driver.

The RCF is a bit unlinear above 1500Hz could work with a 1 order lowpass filter to get rid of that 5-6db peak?

The choice of the RCF i because its for sale in the used market at a resonable price. I know there are better drivers.

Fredrik

Thanks Bjorno