Information on the Physics of Bass Reflex Enclosures - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th October 2012, 06:41 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Information on the Physics of Bass Reflex Enclosures

Hello All.

This is my first post here but I have been lurking for quite a while. A little background to introduce myself and then a request if you would please.

I am a quite experienced electrical engineer (background is electromagnetics and RF circuit design). I have done a few years of electrical audio design along the way.

I have never built a speaker before in my life but it is something that I have wanted to do since I was a kid.

But I am interested. I have access to some rather incredible test facilities at work (an anechoic chamber for example) and the best electronic test equipment that my company's money can buy. Call it a job perk.

I want to build some loudspeakers. Some incredible loudspeakers. To do that, I think it is important to understand the physics behind the acoustics and understand them well.

I am presently studying TS parameters now.

Can anyone here point me to sites/books/papers that they would recommend and they think would help me in understanding the physics, the mechanics and acoustics that is, of loudspeakers, particularly Bass Reflex designs?

Most of the best loudspeakers that I personally have heard utilize this design type and hence this is the one that most piques my interest.

Thanks.
Old 20th October 2012, 06:47 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

FWIW, undiluted papers, such as those that would delve into wave mechanics in detail, are fine with me. I would prefer lighter reading to start with though. Who wouldn't?
Old 20th October 2012, 07:01 PM   #3
Pano is online now Pano  United States